Pro Rodeo Canada Member Login
Official home of the Canadian Professional Rodeo Association FB TW YT IN E

Marty WoodAugust 10, 2019 - Professional Rodeo has lost a legend in the passing of World, Canadian and Calgary Stampede Bronc Riding Champion, Marty Wood.

Born June 4, 1933 in Bowness, AB, the son of Harry and Dorothy Wood, Marty Wood went on to beome one of the most consistent saddle bronc riders ever. The baseball player turned saddle bronc riding star earned three World championships (1958, '64 and '66), three Canadian titles (1954, '55 and '63) and four Calgary Stampede championships (1954, '57, '61 and '64).

For more than two decades Marty dominated the saddle bronc event and won almost every major rodeo in North America. Marty was honored by the Calgary Stampede as a Pioneer of Rodeo in 1988 and inducted into the Canadian Pro Rodeo Hall of Fame and the Alberta Sports Hall of Fame in 1994. Additional recognition includes induction into the Ellensburg Rodeo Hall of Fame and the National Cowboy and Western Heritage Museum Rodeo Hall of Fame.

Marty's flashy style and tremendous ability to ride made him one of the most outstanding saddle bronc riders that has ever contested in the sport of rodeo.

The CPRA extends condolences to Marty's family and friends.

* Read more about Marty Wood at the Canadian Pro Rodeo Hall of Fame

* photo & information courtesy of the Canadian Pro Rodeo Hall of Fame

Cinch Finning Troy Fischer Silverworks Ram Rodeo
Pro Rodeo Canada contact information
Copyright Canadian Professional Rodeo Association - All rights reserved.

Home Schedule Results Standings Sponsors Members Fans Media CFR Maple Leaf Circuit Links Contact
  - Entry Calendar   - Finning Pro Tour   - Member Forms   - Releases - Canadian Champions      
    - Maple Leaf Circuit   - Member Login   - Animal Welfare - Past Champions      
      - Rookie Standings   - Rule Book   - Rodeo News/PRC Insider - Award Donors      
      - Winston Bruce Series   - Board of Directors   - Media Guide        
      - Kenton Randle Series