Pro Rodeo Canada Member Login
Official home of the Canadian Professional Rodeo Association FB TW YT IN E

Packin' For CFR

September 25, 2022 l Airdrie, AB
For immediate release

Nick Patterson - Wildwood Imagery Nick Patterson picked the perfect time to put together the highest marked ride of his pro career.

The 26-year-old bronc rider combined with C5 Rodeo’s 642 Houchie Mama for 87 points to finish second at the Edmonton Pro Rodeo, bettered only by two-time World and Canadian Champion, Zeke Thurston’s 90-point gem aboard C5’s A11 Oney.

Patterson’s $2291 payday on the final weekend of the CPRA regular season (an SMS Equipment Pro Tour stop where money won counts for this season but Tour points for 2023) vaulted the Blackfalds, Alta. cowboy from 14th place in the standings entering the weekend past Montana bronc rider Houston Brown and CFR/NFR stalwart, Dawson Hay, and into the 12th and final CFR qualifying spot. The talented Hay will have to be content with another NFR berth (one of six Canadian bronc riders heading to Las Vegas in December) as he’ll be absent from the CFR ’48 bronc riding roster as a result of Patterson’s weekend magic.

“I knew I had a shot,” the second-year pro acknowledged, “but I tried not to think about it too much. I didn’t know anything about the horse I had until about 45 minutes before I got on. Houchie Mama had been in the States for most of this season, so I talked to (C5 flankman) Tyson Cardinal and tracked down (Montana bronc rider) Qwinton Stroh to get a rein measurement. He was a pretty nice horse, a couple of ducks but nothing too bad.”

Patterson admits to being a bit of a late bloomer as he didn’t get on his first saddle bronc until he was 20 years old. “I was team roping with the Mestons and they convinced me to get on a saddle bronc they had and I was hooked.”

Turns out that was a game-changing moment for the central Alberta cowboy as he now heads off to his first CFR where he expects there just might be a few friends and family on hand from nearby Blackfalds to cheer him on.

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

The bronc riding wasn’t the only event providing drama at the season’s final rodeo as there was a shake-up among the team roping headers as well.

The 13th and 14th ranked men, Wyatt Hayes and Travis Speer, both made big moves on their last runs of the regular season. Speer, the Blue Ridge, Alta. cowboy, and header Chase Simpson (Claresholm, Alta.) turned in a 4.1 second run to split the win (worth $2292) with two sets of brothers, Tyce and Tuftin Mcleod and Keely and Logan Bonnett. Meanwhile Hayes, a Granum, Alta. roper, and his partner, Lachlan Richardson (Nanton, Alta.) stopped the clock in 5.5 seconds for a 5/6 split with fellow Albertans, Jeremy Buhler and Roland McFadden, to collect a much needed $1292. The solid performances from Hayes and Speer moved Hayes to 11th and Speer to 12th in the heading standings and bumped Utah header Rhen Richard and Waldeck, Saskatchewan’s Tee McLeod to the sidelines.

And there’ll be additional intrigue in the days ahead as a couple of headers, Hayes and former World and Canadian Champ, Levi Simpson - along with heelers Jeremy Buhler and Tyce McLeod - will all head to Red Deer without their regular partners. Simpson and Buhler have a celebrated history together as in 2016 they became the first Canadians to win a world team roping title but no decisions on new alliances have been announced so far.

For complete (unofficial) results, check out

Follow the Rodeo Canada website and for Canadian Finals Rodeo details.

About the Canadian Professional Rodeo Association
The Canadian Professional Rodeo Association (CPRA), with headquarters in Airdrie, Alberta, is Canada's official sanctioning body for Professional Rodeo. The CPRA approves over 50 events annually, with a total payout exceeding $5.7 million. Each fall, the organization oversees the SMS Equipment Pro Tour Finals, hosts its premiere event - the Canadian Finals Rodeo (CFR) - at Westerner Park in Red Deer, Alberta and endorses the Maple Leaf Circuit Finals in late November. Follow the CPRA on Twitter and Instagram @prorodeocanada, 'Like' Canadian Professional Rodeo Association on Facebook or online at

Canadian Professional Rodeo Association
For media inquiries
Contact - Barb Poulsen, Media Relations
Phone: 403-625-9225


CPRAEditorial Note: The information within this release is provided by the Canadian Professional Rodeo Association (CPRA) and is intended for media use. If you use any of the following information verbatim in your publication, or broadcast the details via radio or television, please note that the information is courtesy of the CPRA. * Photos are copyright protected and must not be copied, shared or otherwise disbributed without permission of the CPRA.

Are you a media person who would like to be added to the CPRA Media list to receive releases from our organization?
* If so, please email to let us know your media connection & contact info.


Big Time Success for CPRA Athletes at NWSS Cowboy Christmas - A Game Changer
MARCH NFR Open / Circuit Finals Results
ATB Enters Three Year Agreement as Presenting Sponsor of CFR Guenthner Tops Leaderboard at Teepee Creek and Bowden
CPRA-Semi-Pro Rough Stock Agreement BAW Roster Expands For CFR#48
CPRA to Award Permit Memberships to High School Rodeo Champs and Reserve Champs AUGUST
APRIL CPRA Athletes Make Hay on a Three Province Weekend
Rough stock cowboys on DL list Hay Sets New World Record
Exciting Season On Tap for Pro Rodeo Canada Good Times For Goodine
Veterans Shine as CPRA Season Gets Underway Hansen Makes a Move
MAY Standings Races Tighten
Graham Team Roping Brothers On Fire Edmonton Pro Rodeo Gains Pro Tour Status
SMS Equipment - Pro Tour Title Sponsor Triple Play for Graham Team Roping Brothers
Scott Byrne - P.A. Sport Hall of Fame Inductee SEPTEMBER
Taber Spring Rodeo Highlights Big Moves in BC on Labour Day Weekend
SMS Equipment Pro Tour Kicks Off In Grande Prairie Kylie Whiteside Bats 1000 (Olds & Hanna Highlights)
102 Years of the Falkland Stampede  
Grande Prairie Stompede 2022  
Cassidy Extends Season Lead  
Big Weekend for Ben Andersen  
Athlete Stand-Outs - Davison & Schmidt  
Ty Harris On Fire  

* Rodeo Canada Season Underway * Congrats 2021 CPRA Award Winners
AUGUST * Canadian Finals Rodeo is Back
* August Long Weekend Sees Big Performances CFR - Performance One
* Dublanko and Durazo Among Weekend Winners CFR - Performance Two
* Consistency Pays Off For CPRA Athletes CFR - Performance Three
SEPT CFR - Performances Four-Five
* CFR47 Announcement Champions Declared at CFR47
  Maple Leaf Circuit Champions Decided

SMS Equipment Troy Fischer Silverworks Ram Rodeo
Pro Rodeo Canada contact information
Copyright Canadian Professional Rodeo Association - All rights reserved.

Home Schedule Results Standings Sponsors Members Fans Media CFR Maple Leaf Circuit
Links - Entry Calendar   - SMS Equipment Pro Tour   - Member Forms   - Releases - Canadian Champions  
Contact     - Maple Leaf Circuit   - Member Login   - Animal Welfare - Past Champions  
      - Rookie Standings   - Rule Book   - Rodeo News - Award Donors  
      - Winston Bruce Series   - Board of Directors   - Media Guide    
      - Kenton Randle Series